Food Without Morals

February 13, 2010

Peanut Butter Apple Muffins

Filed under: Breads,everyone has problems,Food — by Katie @ 2:43 am

The muffinocolypse is over with this post, promise promise. I COULD have sold out to COMMERCIALIZZZZM and done a Valentine’s day post, but considering that my V-Day plans look like this:
1) Go to church in the morning
2) Go to the “New to Unitarian Universalism” class after church
3) Drink myself into an oblivion (hey, it’ll be the afternoon so that’s okay)

I am not exactly in the Valentine’s day spirit. So, anyways. Muffins!

I based it off of the banana muffin recipe from the previous post. And, seriously? Can we talk for just a minute about my atrocious handwriting? Because I don’t know where that came from. Honest, look at my mom’s handwriting:

Man, the 1950s. Nothing teaches kids good penmanship better than Communist witch hunts and widespread discrimination against minorities.

But enough. Here’s what you need for dese MUFFINS. Except for butter and honey. And peanuts. Please note that my mother buys prune yogurt. This is the house I grew up in, folks.

Measure a 1/4 cup of peanut butter, put it in a bowl.

Add a 1/4 cup of yogurt to the bowl. It does not have to be prune, although that does not affect the taste at all (no, really, PRUNE YOGURT? It’s about a month later and my mind, it is still blown).

And you’re also going to want to put in 1/2 cup of applesauce and one egg. From a chicken. No people eggs, please.

Mix it up with a whisk (or whatever, I just am in love with whisks) and add in 3/4 of a cup of brown sugar.

Spices: Probably why I’m still alive today. 1 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg, 1/2 teaspoon allspice. I just eyeball it though, but I also have mental illness (true story! I’ll tell you some time).

Once you’ve whisked that all together, add in your flour. Stir JUST until combined, or everyone will hate your tunneled, glutenous muffins, as well as YOU, by association.

Fold in your diced apple. It should be a cup; this cup is half full. But I’m still a pessimist.

Divide evenly amongst 12 muffin greased or lined muffin cups. Or, um, ten? I only got ten, but there’s no way that twelve wouldn’t work; that just would involve a mind capable of equal portioning, which I don’t have.

Bake at 350° F for twenty minutes, or until a toothpick stuck in the center comes out clean.

Oh, muffin. At least you’ll be my valentine.

Peanut Butter Apple Muffins
1 cup diced apple
1/4 cup peanut butter
1/4 cup yogurt
1/2 cup applesauce
3/4 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 1/2 cups flour
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon allspice

Preheat oven to 350 F.
Whisk together all of the wet ingredients (this includes the sugar) except for the apple. Add in the spices and the baking soda, and then stir in the flour until just combined. Fold in the apple. Divide amongst twelve greased or lined muffin cups, and bake for twenty to twenty-five minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean. Allow to cool enough to handle, and then remove from the tin to avoid soggy bottoms.

1 Comment »

  1. You crack me up. This post is great and that “prune” yogurt scares me to death. Who knew Jamie Lee Curtis had such problems? Thanks for visiting my blog and I’m sure NPR will give you plenty of talking points for the water cooler. However, you should turn them on for a bit. The Olympics do rock. :) – mary the food librarian

    Comment by food librarian — February 13, 2010 @ 6:32 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.