Food Without Morals

February 4, 2010

Banana Gingerbread Muffins

Filed under: Breads,everyone has problems,Food — by Katie @ 4:42 pm

HEY! WHO LEFT A BAG OF POOP ON MY CLEAN COUNTERS?

Sorry, but we’ve been doing digestion in my Nutrition class, and my retiring-this-year professor decided we needed to spend ten minutes on why one says “elimination” and “waste products” and not “crappity crap crappington.”

I mentioned in my first post that I had been making too many dang muffins. I have a Muffin Problem. A tasty, tasty problem.

My dad proclaimed these muffins as “They’re good, sweetie!” which he says about everything I make, but he pleaded with me to take half of the batch home with me, since my mom is allergic to bananas (I know, CRAZY) and he didn’t want to finish the entire batch by himself. He then bought a giant tub of cookies at Stop and Shop, so take whatever he says with a grain of salt (God love that man and his affinity with fatty, highly processed foods).

I adapted this recipe from a banana muffin recipe I found on epicurious.com. I could search for it, but my bedtime is in fifteen minutes! How do you expect me to get my required nine hours of sleep? I am a growing girl, despite what my height and weight chart says!

Banana Gingerbread Muffins
Makes one dozen

1 1/2 cups flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon cloves
1/4 teaspoon allspice
1 1/4 cups mashed banana (see note)
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup butter
1/4 cup milk
1 egg
3 tablespoons molasses

Note: I roasted my bananas in the skin at 350° F until the skin was black, but if you wanted to forgo this step I’m sure it wouldn’t be a disaster.

Preheat oven to 350° F. Lube up a muffin tin, or use liners, if you’re one of those people.

Stir together the butter and the sugars until combined. Add in the egg, the milk, and the banana, stirring until combined. Add the molasses, stir one more time. Add the salt, the baking soda, and the spices; stir. Add in the flour and stir until just moistened. Divide amongst twelve greased muffin cups. Bake at 350° F for about 20-25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Remove from the muffin tin as soon as they are cool enough to handle.

These will keep for at least a week, but if you want to enjoy one now with the morning paper, I won’t be the one to stop you.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

