Food Without Morals

January 22, 2010

this bread is CORNY

Filed under: Breads,Food — by Katie @ 5:16 pm

I love corn. I think it is because I grew up in New England, and you only get good corn for such a brief period of time. Like, in July, when the snow finally melts.

I kid, I kid. SO FAR AS YOU KNOW

Anyways, because I am from New England, I am incapable of making authentic corn bread. I don’t even own a decent-sized cast-iron skillet! I mean, we have one, but it is four inches in diameter. I don’t know what it’s for.

This bread was pretty good to my Yankee taste buds, and it quelled any and all urges I may have had to dump tea into Boston Harbor, or throw rocks at British soldiers and spark a massacre (and thus ends my New England historical knowledge). I adapted it from Kitchen Scraps’ basic muffin formula. Oh, yeah. I made cornbread out of muffin batter. This is why my Virginian relatives don’t invite us to visit anymore.

Mix together the carrot, butter, milk, egg, honey, and salt. It looks kind of gross, I’m sorry about that. Also I was using my mom’s point-and-shoot (as opposed to my point-and-shoot) at night, so dese pictures is terrible.

Helloooo, dry team! Here we have corn meal, baking powder, baking soda, and, um, nutmeg. Look, I have a problem- okay, I have a lot of problems, but this one particular problem is that I add nutmeg to a lot of places it maybe should not go. I did not add it to the ingredient list because I wanted to make a good impression, but if you want to bring nutmeg to the party (and nutmeg sure would like to come!) then I’d add anywhere between 1/8 of a teaspoon to a 1/4 teaspoon. Oh, pssst. I added the flour after this, but that really made this look like someone had been ill, so I omitted that picture. You’re welcome.

Oh boy, kids, will you look at the clock? It’s cheese time! Add in one cup, as if your life depended on it.

Pour it into a greased 8-inch pan because you don’t own a nine-inch pan, and bake for 25-30 minutes at 350° F. Obviously, you could divide this evenly into twelve muffin tins and make muffins instead, but I had already made two batches of muffins that day and I was afraid if I made any more my parents would put me into therapy. Again.

Full disclosure: I baked these for 25 minutes and they were a little soft, if you like your foods more robust (I like mine wimpy, it makes me feel better about myself in comparison), for sure bake this longer.

Serve on only your FINEST Thomas the Tank Engine plastic plates, with a side of nothing. Because you’ve already had two bowls of Cheez-its and you’re kind of full.

Carrot Corn Muffin Bread
Adapted from Kitchen Scraps
1 1/2 cups flour
1/2 cup corn meal
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup shredded cheese
1 cup milk
1/4 cup melted butter
1 egg
1 1/2 cups shredded carrot (I used the food processor)
1/2 t salt
2 tablespoons honey

Mix together the milk, butter, egg, carrot, salt, and honey. Add the dry ingredients (you could sift these if you’re feeling ambitious) to the wet, and mix until combined. Add the cheese, mix until combined. Pour into an 8×8 inch greased pan, and bake at 350º Fahrenheit for 25-30 minutes. Let cool enough to handle the pan, then slice into 16 pieces and either serve warm or cool on a cooling rack. Because this is basically muffin batter you should probs not cool these in the pan, or you’ll get soggy bottoms. If you already have a soggy bottom, I don’t want to know.

3 Comments »

  1. Shut up. This looks AWESOME. I bet if Paula Dean knew about it she would snatch it up! :)

    Blessings-
    Amanda

    Comment by Amanda — January 24, 2010 @ 10:41 am |Reply

  2. love it.

    Comment by kat — January 31, 2010 @ 2:26 pm |Reply

  3. You are hilarious.

    Comment by tessa — February 14, 2010 @ 4:16 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

